Publication Date set for ‘Margaret Goes Modern’

We’re putting the finishing touches on Frances’s first collection of short stories and want to know what you think about the covers we’re considering. If you prefer blues over greens, adore script or sans serif, or have other thoughts about how ‘Margaret Goes Modern’ should look, now’s your chance. Which of these covers look most like a book you’d want to pick up?

Comment below to let us know what you think or join the conversation on Facebook at www.facebook.com/quiltfiction.

Here’s the description for the book, which will hit the shelves (and eReaders!) on October 26th.

Margaret Goes Modern (and other stories)
In this story collection, award-winning author Frances O’Roark Dowell (Birds in the Air) opens a window on the lives of a fascinating group of women whose lives revolve around family, friends and quiltmaking. In “Persimmon Moon,” sisters Lucy and Amanda worry that financial woes will force them to sell a beloved family home. In “The Off-Kilter Quilt,” Melissa Bennett is sensible, smart and skeptical of marriage. A husband sounds nice in theory, but with all the books and quilts in her life, where would she put him? In “A Quilt for Dr. Wallace,” Lisa learns that sometimes a gift can be a first step toward healing, while the protagonist of “Improv” discovers that sometimes you have more in common with your neighbors than you think. In the touching title story, connecting to a new quilting community helps 75-year-old Margaret reconnect with her daughter, as both struggle with the grief of losing a loved one to Alzheimer’s.

New story + Giveaway!

 

Want to win this Cotton + Steel Fuschia Remix Fat Quarter Bundle? All you have to do is leave a comment below! “Hello, Frances!” will suffice, but if you leave a comment about the story itself (which means, of course, that you have to read the story), it will count for two entries! You can also enter by liking the Quiltfiction Facebook page and/or signing up for my newsletter, which you can do here.

That’s right–you can enter up to four times for your chance to win! The deadline is Monday, May 15, 2017. Good luck!

Free Story:A Quilt for Dr. Wallace

Welcome to QuiltFiction.com!

From Frances O’Roark Dowell — bestselling author of Dovey Coe, The Secret Language of Girls, Trouble the Water and other “beloved books for tweens and teenagers” (New York Times Sunday Book Review) — comes Birds in the Air, Dowell’s first novel for adults.

“A truly enjoyable read! Quilters will relive their own first patchwork steps along with Emma as she searches for her place in a new community. Non-quilters will experience vicariously Emma’s discovery of the power of quilts to connect, heal, and restore the soul.” –Marianne Fons

In the tradition of Marie Bostwick and Jennifer Chiaverini, Frances O’Roark Dowell combines her deep connection to the quilting life and her love of storytelling to create a novel about the abiding friendships that bind together a community of women who share a passion for making quilts.

When Emma Byrd moves into the house of her dreams in the small mountain community of Sweet Anne’s Gap, she knows that making friends may prove to be her biggest challenge. Her husband loves his new job and her kids are finding their way at school. But Emma — no natural when it comes to talking to strangers — will have to try a little harder, especially after the sweet, white-haired neighbor she first visits slams the door in her face.


Free Story! A Quilt for Dr. Wallace

1 2