New story + Giveaway!

 

Want to win this Cotton + Steel Fuschia Remix Fat Quarter Bundle? All you have to do is leave a comment below! “Hello, Frances!” will suffice, but if you leave a comment about the story itself (which means, of course, that you have to read the story), it will count for two entries! You can also enter by liking the Quiltfiction Facebook page and/or signing up for my newsletter, which you can do here.

That’s right–you can enter up to four times for your chance to win! The deadline is Monday, May 15, 2017. Good luck!

Free Story:A Quilt for Dr. Wallace

Welcome to QuiltFiction.com!

From Frances O’Roark Dowell — bestselling author of Dovey Coe, The Secret Language of Girls, Trouble the Water and other “beloved books for tweens and teenagers” (New York Times Sunday Book Review) — comes Birds in the Air, Dowell’s first novel for adults.

“A truly enjoyable read! Quilters will relive their own first patchwork steps along with Emma as she searches for her place in a new community. Non-quilters will experience vicariously Emma’s discovery of the power of quilts to connect, heal, and restore the soul.” –Marianne Fons

In the tradition of Marie Bostwick and Jennifer Chiaverini, Frances O’Roark Dowell combines her deep connection to the quilting life and her love of storytelling to create a novel about the abiding friendships that bind together a community of women who share a passion for making quilts.

When Emma Byrd moves into the house of her dreams in the small mountain community of Sweet Anne’s Gap, she knows that making friends may prove to be her biggest challenge. Her husband loves his new job and her kids are finding their way at school. But Emma — no natural when it comes to talking to strangers — will have to try a little harder, especially after the sweet, white-haired neighbor she first visits slams the door in her face.


Free Story! A Quilt for Dr. Wallace

The Keeping Quilt–For Reals!

My friend Chris emailed today to let me know she’d seen the real Keeping Quilt that inspired Patricia Palacco’s book of the same name (which I wrote about here). Even better, she sent me a picture!

The quilt is part of a permanent exhibit of Palacco’s work at the University of Findlay’s Mazza Museum of International Art from Picture Books.

http://kinderbooks.net/wp-content/uploads/2001/05/The-Keeping-Quilt.jpg

Chris also asked if I’d read I Lay My Stitches Down: Poems of American Slavery. I haven’t, but as soon as I looked it up on Amazon I knew I wanted to read it based on the cover alone:

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/61-GYoRlIvL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

 

I also heard from Julie, who mentioned a book her sister wrote called Ravaging Rio and the Ghost in the Library, which is illustrated with photographs Julie took of her own quilts. I got a peek at Ravaging Rio using Amazon’s “Look Inside” feature, and I loved Julie’s quilts so much that I immediately ordered a copy.

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/71fAH3PZsLL.jpg

I just bought two Jennifer Chiaverini Kindle short stories, The Fabric Diary and The Runner’s Quilt. They came in November 2016, and the cost for both is only $1.99. Bargain! I’ll tell you more about them when I finish.

Speaking of short stories, I plan on posting one on this blog, serial-style, soon. I also hope to eventually make an audio version available as well, since I know so many quilters like to listen to audiobooks while they quilt.

P.S. I had a great time talking to Pat Sloan on Monday. She’s one of the quilting world’s treasures, and I so appreciate her having me on the show. If you want to listen, just head over here: http://blog.patsloan.com/2017/01/learn-about-designing-a-quilt-novels-creation-and-more-tips-a-free-pattern.html

1 2