Birds in the Air

From Frances O’Roark Dowell — bestselling author of Dovey Coe, The Secret Language of Girls, Trouble the Water and other “beloved books for tweens and teenagers” (New York Times Sunday Book Review) — comes Birds in the Air, Dowell’s first novel for adults.

“A truly enjoyable read! Quilters will relive their own first patchwork steps along with Emma as she searches for her place in a new community. Non-quilters will experience vicariously Emma’s discovery of the power of quilts to connect, heal, and restore the soul.” –Marianne Fons

In the tradition of Marie Bostwick and Jennifer Chiaverini, Dowell combines her deep connection to the quilting life and her love of storytelling to create a novel about the abiding friendships that bind together a community of women who share a passion for making quilts.

When Emma Byrd moves into the house of her dreams in the small mountain community of Sweet Anne’s Gap, she knows that making friends may prove to be her biggest challenge. Her husband loves his new job and her kids are finding their way at school. But Emma — no natural when it comes to talking to strangers — will have to try a little harder, especially after the sweet, white-haired neighbor she first visits slams the door in her face.

Luckily, a few of the quilters of Sweet Anne’s Gap adopt Emma and she soon finds herself organizing the quilt show for the town’s centennial celebration. But not everyone is happy to see the job go to an outsider, especially one who has befriended an outcast pursuing her own last best chance at redemption.

With Birds in the Air, Frances O’Roark Dowell (winner of the Edgar Award, the William Allen White Award and the Christopher Medal) has created a warm, funny novel about fitting in, falling out and mending frayed relationships one stitch at a time.


What a delightful book! … As I read, I was transported out of my chair and into the town of Sweet Anne’s Gap and the lives of the quilters that I can understand so well.”  –Annie Smith

Birds in the Air is a great book and quilt block — it’s as unusual as liking the book and the movie! It was such a pleasurable read. I cared about the characters and what happened to them. I enjoyed revisiting what it is like to be a brand new quilter.” –Kathy Mathews, ChicagoNow


A Quilting Q&A with Author Frances O’Roark Dowell

  • Why did you decide to write about quilters? There’s a rule of thumb for writers: Write the books you want to read. I’m so happy whenever writers like Jennifer Chivavirini, Marie Bostwick and Sandra Dallas come out with new quilting novels–I wish more quilters wrote books! So it makes sense that if I love reading books about quilting, I should write one.
  • What draws you to quilting? I’ve always loved quilts. For many years I was convinced that I’d never be able to make a quilt (I’m math phobic, for one thing), and when I finally realized I could, quilting became my new passion. I recently interviewed novelist Marie Bostwick for my blog and asked her why she made quilts. Her answer: Because I can’t paint. I totally got it. Making quilts satisfies my artist soul (the one that can’t paint, alas).
  • How are quilting and writing similar; in what ways do they differ? With both quilting and writing, I revise a lot. I find this especially true now that I’m designing more of my own quilts. I mess up a lot in both endeavors, but find that sometimes my failures lead to good, unexpected places. Neither books nor quilts always end up being exactly what you intended them to be — for better and for worse. One thing that’s different about making quilts is that you’re constantly in motion, going from the cutting board to the sewing machine to the ironing board and back again. It’s great to move while I’m making something instead of just sitting in front of a computer.
  • How did the “Off-Kilter Quilt” podcast come about? I’d been making quilts for a few years when I discovered quilting podcasts. For the most part, these podcasts were homey and conversational, and I loved listening to the hosts talk about their projects and guild meetings, and hearing about the books they were reading and what they were having for dinner. For me, starting a podcast was like joining an ongoing conversation with other podcasters, which then became an ongoing conversation with my listeners, who leave comments, send me emails, and sometimes even come through town and have a cup of coffee with me. It’s a really wonderful, supportive community.

See what readers have been saying about Birds in the Air

“It is a wonderfully written novel with characters that I continue to think about long after I finished it. I found the characters charming and the plot intriguing–I’d love to move in right next door to Emma in Sweet Anne’s Gap.”

“I’m not a quilter but I enjoyed this tale of friendships and small town life… I’d like to see more from Dowell, as she has a nice touch.”

“As an elementary school librarian, I have read and enjoyed Dowell’s children’s book and was eager to read her first foray into adult fiction. So it should be no surprise that this awarding winning queen of exploring the ins and outs of friendships and not fitting in for the tween reader would see fertile ground for exploring the same themes in an adult book.”

“This was a wonderfully warm, exceptionally well-written novel and I couldn’t believe it when I noted I was almost finished with it.”

“I read it in one day, finding plenty of reasons not to do any of the housework (other than laundry) so that I could finish it.”

“Captivating story for those who love and appreciate how the art of quilting weaves people and lives together like a good novel does.”

“Quilting, quilt shows, writing, friendships, fitting in . . . throw in a bit of mystery. What more could a avid reading woman ask for?!”

“I love quilting but rarely read quilting fiction. This book was a happy exception.”

“It’s not the quilting that gets one hooked – it’s the quilters and their stories that keep us engaged.”

“I enjoyed this book by a new author (to me anyway) and hope she makes it the first of a series.”

“The author brings past quilting history and highlights how it functions in a community both in the past and in current times.”

“I really commend Francis for moving outside the square – of her writing genre – she certainly has shown she can write adult novels as well as children’s.”

“I tucked up under a quilt by the fire and spent many enjoyable hours with this book.”

“I would recommend this book to quilters and crafters of all sorts, as it examines the dynamics of how we get along with others as we meander down creative paths.”

“Put this on your Must Read list.”

“I can so identity with Emma, Angie, and even Christine. Keep them coming, Frances.”

“As a quilter it was fun to read a book written by someone who understands the social ties and sense of community we quilters have with each other.”

“I love how Frances uses quilt-isms throughout the book!”

“Dowell was able to get my mind into that town and its drama easily enough for me to lose track of time.”

“Enjoyable read that starts out deceptively simple and then starts to layer on the plot and draws you in even more.”

“Quilters would definitely enjoy this story, but so would the uninitiated, because it’s really about a woman finding her “people.””

“Frances … created a smart story where the characters see like real people.”

“I found myself smiling along reading about Emma’s journey as a new quilter.”

“I enjoyed being transported to Sweet Anne’s Gap, NC.”

Such an enjoyable read!

Delightful. A great mystery with history and drama thrown in.

I hope to see more books for adults from Mrs. Dowell soon.

“Loved the story hope there are more to come”

It is a great read and hard to put down”

“Great slice of life story involving small town America, new beginnings, and quilts.”

“It was great. Love the characters and the quilting.”

“The characters are fascinating, alive, and wonderfully believable.”

Birds in the Air was a pleasure to read, beginning to end”

 

 

 

 

 

 

GoodReads – Birds in the Air (10 Copies!)

Enter the Goodreads.com Giveaway now.

Enter the Goodreads.com Giveaway now.

Enter for a chance to win one of 10 signed copies of Birds in the Air, a novel that Marianne Fons calls “a truly enjoyable read” about “the power of quilts to connect, heal, and restore the soul.”

In her first novel for adults, Frances O’Roark Dowell (bestselling author of Dovey Coe, The Secret Language of Girls, Trouble the Water and other “beloved books for tweens and teenagers” (New York Times Sunday Book Review) — has created a warm, funny novel about fitting in, falling out and mending frayed relationships one stitch at a time.

Fans of Marie Bostwick and Jennifer Chiaverini are sure to love the resilient quilters of Sweet Anne’s Gap.

Enter to win one of 10 free copies of ‘Birds in the Air’ Now!