Quilting Fiction by Frances


Image

In 2016, Frances embarked on a new phase of her writing career by publishing the quilting novel Birds in the Air, her first novel for adult readers. While the audience was new, she didn’t range far afield at all in terms of subject matter. Frances is an avid quilter and for most of the last decade has hosted a quilting podcast that allows her to connect with fellow quilters around the world.

Combining her love of telling stories and her love of quilting was a natural step. “There’s a rule of thumb for writers: Write the books you want to read,” Frances said. “I’m so happy whenever writers like Jennifer Chiaverini, Marie Bostwick and Sandra Dallas come out with new quilting novels — I wish more quilters wrote books!”

To shop Frances's books for younger readers, please visit FrancesDowell.com

Image

Birds in the Air

From Frances O’Roark Dowell — bestselling author of Dovey Coe, The Secret Language of Girls, Trouble the Water and other “beloved books for tweens and teenagers” (New York Times Sunday Book Review) — comes Birds in the Air, Dowell’s first novel for adults.

In the tradition of Marie Bostwick and Jennifer Chiaverini, Dowell combines her deep connection to the quilting life and her love of storytelling to create a novel about the abiding friendships that bind together a community of women who share a passion for making quilts.

When Emma Byrd moves into the house of her dreams in the small mountain community of Sweet Anne’s Gap, she knows that making friends may prove to be her biggest challenge. Her husband loves his new job and her kids are finding their way at school. But Emma — no natural when it comes to talking to strangers — will have to try a little harder, especially after the sweet, white-haired neighbor she first visits slams the door in her face.

Luckily, a few of the quilters of Sweet Anne’s Gap adopt Emma and she soon finds herself organizing the quilt show for the town’s centennial celebration. But not everyone is happy to see the job go to an outsider, especially one who has befriended an outcast pursuing her own last best chance at redemption.

With Birds in the Air, Frances O’Roark Dowell (winner of the Edgar Award, the William Allen White Award and the Christopher Medal) has created a warm, funny novel about fitting in, falling out and mending frayed relationships one stitch at a time.

Buy Online

Image

Margaret Goes Modern

A touching, big-hearted collection of short stories about women whose lives revolve around family, friends and quilt-making.

Meet Margaret, whose adventures with a new quilting group help her reconnect with her daughter as they struggle with the grief of losing a loved one to Alzheimer’s.

Then there’s Liz, a quilter seeking her own tribe in a neighborhood of perfect moms. But maybe she has more in common with her neighbors than she thinks.

Sisters Amanda and Lucy, one dreamy, the other practical as the day is long, have financial woes that may force them to sell their beloved home. Can a quilt made with fabric from a mysterious aunt save the day?

Lisa is still reckoning with the loss of her best friend. Diving head-first into a new quilt project, she learns that sometimes a gift can be a first step toward healing.

Melissa Bennett is sensible, smart and skeptical of marriage. A husband sounds nice, but with all the books and quilts in her life, where would she put him?

Buy Online

Image

Friendship Album, 1933

Listen to Frances's latest novel for free on iTunes and other podcast providers.

Friendship Album, 1933 is a work of historical fiction that follows the lives of five women who form an improbable quilting circle in Depression-era Ohio.

Written and read in its entirety by award-winning author Frances O'Roark Dowell (Birds in the Air, Margaret Goes Modern, Dovey Coe, Shooting the Moon), this audiobook tells a heart-warming story of strangers brought together by quilting and made into family.

Subscribe on iTunes