Free Story from ‘Margaret Goes Modern & Other Stories’

We’re putting the finishing touches on Frances’s first collection of short stories for publication in time for the holidays. Several of the stories have appeared before on this site in our Free Quilt Stories promotions. Others are brand new, including the title story “Margaret Goes Modern.”

One story from the collection is our current Quilt Story on this site, so don’t miss your chance to read A Quilt for Dr. Wallace completely free of charge!

Margaret Goes Modern and Other Stories

A touching, big-hearted collection of short stories about women whose lives revolve around family, friends and quilt-making.

Meet Margaret, whose adventures with a new quilting group help her reconnect with her daughter as they struggle with the grief of losing a loved one to Alzheimer’s.

Then there’s Liz, a quilter seeking her own tribe in a neighborhood of perfect moms. But maybe she has more in common with her neighbors than she thinks.

Sisters Amanda and Lucy, one dreamy, the other practical as the day is long, have financial woes that may force them to sell their beloved home. Can a quilt made with fabric from a mysterious aunt save the day?

Lisa is still reckoning with the loss of her best friend. Diving head-first into a new quilt project, she learns that sometimes a gift can be a first step toward healing.

Melissa Bennett is sensible, smart and skeptical of marriage. A husband sounds nice, but with all the books and quilts in her life, where would she put him?


Frances O’Roark Dowell — the bestselling author of Dovey Coe, Trouble the Water, The Secret Language of Girls, and other “beloved books for tweens and teenagers” (New York Times Sunday Book Review) — first combined her love of telling stories and her love of quilting with the novel Birds in the Air in 2016. She also hosts the popular “Off-Kilter Quilt” podcast, where she talks about her latest quilt projects with friends and fellow quilters around the globe. Her own little corner of the globe is Durham, North Carolina, where she lives with her husband, two sons, and a dog named Travis. Connect with her online at FrancesDowell.com and QuiltFiction.com.

Giveaway!

 

Want to win this Cotton + Steel Fuschia Remix Fat Quarter Bundle? All you have to do is leave a comment below! “Hello, Frances!” will suffice, but if you leave a comment about the story itself (which means, of course, that you have to read the story), it will count for two entries! You can also enter by liking the Quiltfiction Facebook page and/or signing up for my newsletter, which you can do here.

That’s right–you can enter up to four times for your chance to win! The deadline is Monday, May 15, 2017. Good luck!

Welcome to QuiltFiction.com!

From Frances O’Roark Dowell — bestselling author of Dovey Coe, The Secret Language of Girls, Trouble the Water and other “beloved books for tweens and teenagers” (New York Times Sunday Book Review) — comes Birds in the Air, Dowell’s first novel for adults.

“A truly enjoyable read! Quilters will relive their own first patchwork steps along with Emma as she searches for her place in a new community. Non-quilters will experience vicariously Emma’s discovery of the power of quilts to connect, heal, and restore the soul.” –Marianne Fons

In the tradition of Marie Bostwick and Jennifer Chiaverini, Frances O’Roark Dowell combines her deep connection to the quilting life and her love of storytelling to create a novel about the abiding friendships that bind together a community of women who share a passion for making quilts.

When Emma Byrd moves into the house of her dreams in the small mountain community of Sweet Anne’s Gap, she knows that making friends may prove to be her biggest challenge. Her husband loves his new job and her kids are finding their way at school. But Emma — no natural when it comes to talking to strangers — will have to try a little harder, especially after the sweet, white-haired neighbor she first visits slams the door in her face.

1 2 3 5